Minnesota Lynx Send Three Players To All-WNBA First Team


The WNBA today announced that Lynx guard Lindsay Whalen and forward Maya Moore were selected to the All-WNBA First Team, while guard Seimone Augustus earned All-WNBA Second Team honors. This is the third time in Whalen’s 10-year career she’s earned All-WNBA First Team honors, the first for Moore and the fourth time Augustus has been named to the All-WNBA Second Team.

This year marks the first time in franchise history the Lynx have had two representatives selected to the All-WNBA First Team.

Whalen averaged 14.9 points, 4.4 rebounds and 5.8 assists per game in leading Minnesota to the best regular-season record in the WNBA for the third consecutive season.

Moore, who was the 2011 rookie of the year, was a second-team selection last season. This season she was third in league scoring and averaged 18.5 points per game.

Augustus, a first-team choice last year, was a second-team honoree in 2006, ’07 and ’11.

She also was a first-team selection in 2011, when she helped lead the Lynx to its only WNBA championship, and 2008, when she played for the Connecticut Sun. In ’08, Whalen was runner-up to Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks in voting for the league’s MVP award. She was a second-team selection last season.

The teams are as followed:

Player:                Team:        Pos.:        Pts.:
Sylvia Fowles        Chicago      Center       167
Diana Taurasi       Phoenix       Guard       162
Maya Moore          Lynx           Forward    161
Lindsay Whalen     Lynx           Guard       143
Candace Parker    Los Angeles        Forward        119


Tamika Catchings       Indiana        Forward        116
Elena Della Donne      Chicago        Forward       105
Angel McCoughtry      Atlanta         Guard           97
Seimone Augustus      Lynx             Guard            62
Tina Charles        Connecticut         Center           52