Minnesota Timberwolves Announce 2013-14 Opening Night Roster


The Minnesota Timberwolves announced today the team’s 15-player 2013-14 Opening Night roster. To reduce their roster to the 15-man limit, this past weekend the Wolves waived Lorenzo Brown, Othyus Jeffers and Chris Johnson.

Oct 24, 2013; Auburn Hills, MI, USA; Minnesota Timberwolves power forward

Kevin Love

(42) makes a dunk on Detroit Pistons center

Andre Drummond

(0) during the third quarter at The Palace of Auburn Hills. Pistons beat the Timberwolves 99-98. Mandatory Credit: Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013-14 roster features eight returning players and seven new players. The seven new faces include veteran shooting guard Kevin Martin, who was acquired via a sign-and-trade from Oklahoma City in a three-team trade on July 11, and three free agent signees: Corey Brewer, Ronny Turiaf and A.J. Price. A trio of rookies –first round draft picks Shabazz Muhammad (14th overall pick) and Gorgui Dieng (21st overall pick), and 2012 second round pick Robbie Hummel (58th overall pick) – round out the new faces on this year’s squad.

The Wolves eight returning players are: Kevin Love, Ricky Rubio, Nikola Pekovic, J.J. Barea, Chase Budinger, Dante Cunningham, Alexey Shved and Derrick Williams. The entire 15-man roster is listed below.

The 25th season of the Timberwolves will open on Wednesday, October 30 against the Orlando Magic. The game will be televised on FOX Sports North at 7:00 PM.