Minnesota Vikings: Midseason Award Winners

CHICAGO, IL - OCTOBER 09: Everson Griffen
CHICAGO, IL - OCTOBER 09: Everson Griffen /
3 of 7

Defensive MVP


As much as this seems like a foregone conclusion, I struggled giving it to Everson Griffen based on how many players are playing at a high level on the defense. Factoring in the performances of Harrison Smith, Xavier Rhodes, Linval Joseph, Eric Kendricks, Anthony Barr and more, it’s hard to say one player is the most valuable.

That being said, what Griffen has been able to do the first half of the season is simply incredible. He’s had a sack in every game this season for a total of 10 and is only a half sack behind DeMarcus Lawrence for first in the NFL.

Related Story: Extending Everson Griffen was the right move!

When it comes to his eight-game sack streak, that ties him with Vikings legends Jim Marshall and Jared Allen for the team record. Additionally, Dwight Freeney and Robert Mathis are the only other players to start a year with a sack in eight straight game according to ESPN.

Basically, Griffen’s first half of the season is one for the records books and likely the best all-time from a defensive end in Vikings history.

While it’s been established previously that the MVP award is based on more than just performance, there’s no questioning his value as a vocal leader on and off the field for Minnesota. I mean, no one is more fiery and passionate than Griffen and that rubs off on the entire defense.

So, when its all set and done, the fact he’s the leader of the defense is what separates him most from the other deserving candidates.

Strongly considered: Harrison Smith, Linval Joseph, Eric Kendricks, Anthony Barr, Xavier Rhodes